Public Input

A website of the Florida House of Representatives' Redistricting Committee and www.floridaredistricting.org

HPUBC0049 – Hitchcock, Virginia

View in Google Maps

Summary:

  • Congressional Redistricting Plan
  • 27 Districts
  • Complete: 90 unassigned census blocks
  • Contiguous: The districts contain holes and noncontiguous territory
  • Direct Impacts: Statewide
  • Submitted to the Florida House of Representatives
  • Submitted by Virginia Hitchcock of Sarasota County

Open Plan in MyDistrictBuilder or Another Application:

Statistics:

Maps:

Filed under: Congress - Complete Plans, , ,

2 Responses - Comments are closed.

  1. David Lewin says:

    Thanks for taking the time and effort to prepare this map. I still believe the best congressional map I’ve seen is Sean Phillippi’s for representation for Palm Beach, Broward and Miami-Dade counties.

  2. Committee staff note that the plan author included the following comments with the submission: “I tried to create the new districts according to counties, as these are the frameworks of the legal system within our state. I had thought that it would be easy – just combine counties of low populations or divide counties of large populations to arrive at the target population numbers. I was wrong. The next level of the legal system is the incorporated cities, so whenever possible, I tried to keep cities together. However, the outline of the cities often look more like a many-headed hydra than a compact area. Where I had to divide, I did so by major roads or natural boundaries, as these are things that are not likely to change. My basic building unit was the voting district. But even these create challenges, as there are often districts within other districts. Even though the redistricting software allows changes on the block level, I would hope that you would likewise leave the voting districts untouched. The 2002 Congressional district map did not respect the voting districts. I think the local supervisors of elections must have the autonomy to create the voting districts that serve their populations best.

    For the areas south of the heavily developed I-4 corridor, I tried to differentiate coastal, urban areas from rural central ones. In these areas the transitions between open land and dense developments are very distinct, and it would seem that the inhabitants of each would have markedly different issues and concerns. I suspect that in the present system, rural residents have been overshadowed by the more densely populated coastal regions. Presumably it would make elected officials more effective – and make their jobs easier – if they represented people with like concerns.

    I am proud of this one map that I have created so far. Of my proposed 27 congressional districts, only 3 have populations that vary from the target by more than 1,000. The populations of the other 24 vary from -821 to +990, or +/- 0.1%. For 6 of the districts the variation is less than 100, or +/- 0.01%.

    However, I didn’t consider racial make-ups of districts. I was impressed by a comment from an earlier hearing where the speaker gave the image of a judge being separated by a curtain from those whose fate he was deciding. Likewise, in the classical image, Justice is blindfolded. I think it is time for Florida to have a system that is color-blind and see how it works.

www.floridaredistricting.org

Plan Explorer

The Plan Explorer blog site highlights partial and complete redistricting plans submitted by Florida residents to the Florida House of Representatives. The site also includes suggestions submitted in writing. The tools to the left offer several ways to search the submitted plans.

Most Frequently Visited Redistricting Plan Submissions

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 26 other followers

Thanks for Stopping By!

  • 40,791 visitors!
